Real Property Administrator

Designation Overview

The RPA designation program can help position you for greater success. How? By familiarizing you with the diverse aspects of operating a commercial building, the RPA designation program helps you integrate these issues into the broader task of property management. You’ll gain the insight and knowledge necessary to analyze a building in its entirety: building systems design, operation, and maintenance; commercial real estate law; investment and finance; risk management and insurance; leasing and marketing; asset management; environmental health and safety; and more. The RPA program will teach you to maximize a building’s net income while minimizing risks, thereby enhancing your standing in the industry and positioning you for long-term success.

To earn the RPA designation, you must complete these six mandatory courses (five mandatory courses for Canadian students) plus the one-day Ethics Is Good Business® ShortCourse™ (As of April 1, 2000):

  • The Design, Operation, and Maintenance of Building Systems, Part I
  • The Design, Operation, and Maintenance of Building Systems, Part II
  • Real Estate Investment and Finance
  • Environmental Health and Safety Issues
  • Budgeting and Accounting (U.S. Only)
  • Law and Risk Management

Plus, you must complete one other course, which you may select from these four electives:

  • Fundamentals of Real Property Administration
  • Leasing and Marketing for Property Managers
  • Asset Management
  • Managing the Organization

RPA Experience Requirement

Before the RPA designation is awarded, a candidate should be able to demonstrate three years of property management experience. This experience must be performed for a portfolio or building 40,000 square feet or larger. Work-related experience must include responsibility in 18 of 25 categories.

A 4-page RPA Experience Requirement Form is available that includes:

  • A brief explanation page
  • Employment Information form
  • Criteria Verification form
  • Notary form

Code of Ethics

In addition to requiring Ethics Is Good Business®, the Institute has developed a Code of Professional Ethics and Conduct to increase the esteem of the designation and to promote honesty as an integral part of an RPA’s reputation. You will be asked to abide by this code.

Continuing Professional Development

To maintain active status of the RPA designation, 18 points of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) credit must be earned every three years. For a free brochure detailing the CPD requirements, email BOMA – Long Island at

College Credit Recommendation

Courses in the RPA curriculum are designed to cover the equivalent of 30 classroom hours. ACE/College Credit Recommendation Service reviews BOMI Institute’s U.S. courses and recommends most for college credit. For more information about obtaining college credit for your Institute studies, email BOMA – Long Island at

Other Courses